The second conference of the AIYD was held in Melbourne and Sydney, Australia from 30 January to 1 February 2013. In addition to discussing  issues pertinent to the bilateral relationship, delegates also had the opportunity to have a private tour of the Richmond Football Club in Melbourne, have morning tea with the Governor of Victoria at his residence and attend a cocktail reception at the NSW Parliament House with the Premier.


The delegates interacted with a wide range of speakers, including The Hon Chris Bowen MP, Federal Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, The Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP, Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism, The Hon Barry O’Farrell, Premier of New South Wales, His Excellency, the Honourable Alex Chernov AC QC, Governor of the State of Victoria, in addition to other Members of Parliament, diplomats and journalists.


The conference programme focused on the following topics in the context of the Australia-India relationship:

  • Diaspora, Cultural Representation and Soft Power
  • Entrepreneurship and Social Innovation
  • Sustainability
  • Foreign Direct Investment in Australia and India
  • International Security



Australian Delegates

Indian Delegates

  • DAY 1: January 30, 2013, MELBOURNE
  • Australia and India: An Overview of Political and Administrative landscape Sponsored by the Australia India Council

    His Excellency Mr Biren Nanda, High Commissioner for India   Mr John McCarthy AO, Chair, Australia India Council and Former Australian High Commissioner to India


    Mr. Daniel Flitton, Senior Correspondent, The AgeSydney Morning Herald

  • 11:15am

  • 12:45am

  • Diaspora, Cultural Representation and Soft Power Sponsored by Macquarie University

    Senator Lisa Singh, Australian Labor Party Senator for Tasmania

    Prof Naren Chitty AM, Inaugural Director, Soft Power Advocacy and Research Centre (Macquarie University)

    Mr Brian Hayes QC, South Australian Government Special Envoy to. India and Former Chair Australia India Business.


    Ms. Maxine McKew, Vice Chancellor’s Fellow with the University of Melbourne, former Member of Parliament and Journalist

  • 2:30pm

    Diaspora, Cultural Representation and Soft Power

  • 3.30pm

  • 5:45pm

  • 7:00pm

    His Excellency the Honourable Alex Chernov AC QC, Governor of the State of Victoria

  • DAY 2: January 31, 2013, MELBOURNE
  • Education in Australia and India Sponsored by the Australia India Institute

    Prof Amitabh Mattoo, Director, Australia India Institute and former Vice Chancellor of University of Jammu

    Prof Jane den Hollander,Vice Chancellor and President of Deakin University

    Ms Kathe Kirby, Executive Director, Asia Education Foundation and Asialink, University of Melbourne


    Professor Fazal Rizvi, Professor ofEducation, Melbourne Graduate School of Education

  • 10:15am

  • 11:15am

  • Mr Simon McKeon AO, Executive Chairman of Macquarie Group’s Melbourne office; Australian of the Year (2011); Chairman, CSIRO; Chairman, Business for Millennium Development

    Mr Srijan Pal Singh,Former Officeron Special Duty at Office ofDr. APJ Abdul Kalam and co-author of “Target 3 Billion”

    Ms Anne Skipper AM, Chair, Plan International Australia; Director, Plan HK; Chair, Royal District Nursing Service SA; Director, Qantas Foundation

    Moderator: Ms Hayley Bolding, Founder, ATMA; Projects Officer, Australia India Institute; Victorian Young Australian of the Year (2013)

  • 1:30pm

    Mr Jon Dee, Founder, Planet Ark; Founder and Managing Director, Do Something!; NSW Australian of the Year (2010)

    Scientia Professor Veena Sahajwalla, Director, Centre for Sustainable Materials Research and Technology, UNSW; Winner of The Australian/Shell Innovation award (2012)
    Ms. Sara Phillips, Editor, ABC Environment Online
  • 2:45pm

  • 3.15pm

  • DAY 3: FEBRUARY 1, 2013, SYDNEY
  • 9:00am

    Mr Neville Roach AO, Chairperson of Tata Consultancy Services Australia; Former CEO Fujitsu Australia; Former National Chair, Australia India Business Council

    Mr Howard Ronaldson, Secretary, Department of Business and Innovation,Government of Victoria

    Mr Robert Milliner, Former Chief Executive Partner of Mallesons Stephen Jaques; Chairman at Foundation for Young Australians


    Mr Matt Wade, Senior Journalist at The Sydney Morning Herald

  • 10:30am

  • 11.15am

  • 11.30am

    Lt. General (retd) Kamaleshwar Davar,Former Chief of The Defence Intelligence Agency and Former Deputy Chief of the Integrated Defence Staff

    Mr Paul O’Sullivan AO, Former Director-General of the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO)

    Mr Rory Medcalf, Director, International Security Program at The Lowy Institute for International Policy


    Dr Andrew Carr, Associate Lecturer in the Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, Australian National University

  • 1:00pm

  • 1:45pm

  • 2:30pm

    The Hon Chris Bowen MP, Federal Minister for Immigration and Citizenship

  • 3:30pm

  • 5:30pm

  • 7:30pm

    The Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP, Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism




AIYD 2013

To read more about the dialogue, Please download below the AIYD report for the year 2013.