The Australia India Youth Dialogue, the leading youth dialogue between the two countries, met in Melbourne and Sydney for its sixth iteration from 15 – 18 February 2017. AIYD 2017 focused on the overarching theme of innovation, with sub-themes of health, entrepreneurship and skill development. Thirty prominent youth leaders from business, start-ups, sports, NGOs, medical services, higher education, politics and media were selected to take part.

The closed-door discussions involved a candid exchange of insights which produced a range of creative policy ideas to deepen the Australia-India bilateral relationship. The delegation also visited the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute in Melbourne, and undertook a tour of the Tyree Energy Technologies Building at the University of New South Wales in Sydney.

Issues discussed included:

  • Health innovation in Australia and India;
  • Comparing Australian and Indian start-up ecosystems;
  • Maximising impact through investing in social entrepreneurship;
  • The challenge of skilling India’s millions and the potential for Australia-India collaboration;
  • The role of gender in skill development and the future of work.

The 2017 AIYD continued the group challenge activity introduced at the 2016 dialogue. The winning group aimed to reduce drowning deaths in India through training cooperation with Australian Surf Life Saving Clubs.

The delegation was addressed by Ms Preeti Saran, Secretary (East), Ministry of External Affairs, the Hon. Frank McGuire, Victorian Parliamentary Secretary for Medical Research, Small Business and Innovation, Ms Manika Jain, Consul General of India in Melbourne, the Hon. Jonathon O’Dea MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the New South Wales Premier and Treasurer, the Hon. Victor Dominello MP, New South Wales Minister for Finance, Services and Property, Mr Barry O’Farrell, former Premier of New South Wales and Deputy Chair of the Australia India Council, Mr B Vanlalvawna, Consul General of India in Sydney, and the Hon. Craig Laundy MP, Assistant Minister for Innovation, Health and Science.



Australian Delegates

Indian Delegates

  • DAY 0 - MELBOURNE (Arrival), Wednesday 15 February 2017
  • Theme: Innovation - Health, Entrepreneurship, Skills
  • 2:00pm – 4:00pm


  • 7:00pm

    Town Hall


    Preeti Saran,Secretary (East), Ministry of External Affairs, India.

    The Hon. Frank McGuire, Parliamentary Secretary for Medical Research and Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business and Innovation

  • DAY 1 - MELBOURNE, Thursday 16 February 2017
  • Theme: Health
  • 9:00am – 10:00am


    Danielle Rajendram, Policy Officer, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Australia


    John WH Denton AO, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

    Manika Jain, Consul General of India in Melbourne

  • 10:00am- 11:00am


    Rachel Altman, Manager International Engagement, Department of Premier and Cabinet, Victoria


    Suvir Khanchandani, Commercial Manager, Cipla Australia

     Sue MacLeman, Chief Executive Officer, MTPConnect Ltd

     Dr. James Dromey, Chief Operating Officer, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute

  • 11:10am- 11:30am

  • 11:30am – 12:30pm


    Sid Verma, Corazon Systems


    David Mast, IBM

    Andrew Lin and Hon Weng Chong, Clinicloud

    Patrick Ferguson, Phoria

  • 12:30pm – 1:15pm

    State Library


  • 2:00pm – 3:30pm

  • 3:30pm – 5:30pm

    Australia India Institute

  • 7:45pm



  • DAY 2 SYDNEY, Friday 17th February 2017
  • Theme: Entrepreneurship
  • 9:30am


    Belinda Howell, General Manager, Market Development, UTS

    Stephen Rutter, Manager Business practice Unit, UTS Business School

  • 9:40am- 10:40am


    Avi Naidu, Co-Founder and Managing Director, Taronga Group


    Anup Vikal, Chief Financial Officer, Snapdeal

    Topaz Conway, Chair, Springboard Enterprises and Telstra, Advisory Board Member

    Patrick Mooney, Chairman, Impact Tech Ventures

  • 10:40am – 11:00am

  • 11:00am – 11:20am


    Rob Fitzpatrick, CEO, Australian Information Industry Association

  • 11:20am – 12:20pm


    Andrew Sholl, Principal ShollCounsel


    Daniel Madhavan, Chief Executive Officer, Impact Investing Australia

    Rob Fitzpatrick, CEO, Australian Information Industry Association

    Karen Iles, Head of Corporate Social Responsibility at Tata Consultancy Services

  • 12:20pm


  • 1:20pm – 2:45pm

  • 2:45pm – 3:30pm


    HashChing, Fintech – Mandeep Sodhi

    Advanced Navigation, GPS – Chris Shaw

    Tot Tok, Childcare – Ankita Mehta

  • 3:30pm – 4:00pm

    Keynote Address:

    The Hon. Jonathan O’Dea MP NSW Parliamentary Secretary to Premier and Treasurer

  • 4:00pm – 4:45pm

  • 5:30pm – 6:30pm

  • 6:30pm


    Address by Veena Sahajwalla, Scientia Professor

  • DAY 3 SYDNEY, Saturday 18th February 2017
  • Theme: Skills
  • 10:00am


    Professor Philomena Leung, Professor of Accounting and Associate Dean (International and Corporate Engagement), Macquarie University

  • 10:10 am – 11:20am


    Mosiqi Acharya, Digital Content Producer, SBS Radio


    Professor C. Raj Kumar, Founding Vice Chancellor, O.P. Jindal Global University and Director, International Institute for Higher Education Research & Capacity Building

    Sue Freeman, Director, Australian Retail College India

    Tim Beresford, Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Vice Chancellor, Macquarie University

  • 11:20am – 11:30am


    Professor Julian Knowles, Associate Dean (International), Faculty of Arts, Macquarie University

  • 11:30am – 12:00pm

  • 12:00pm – 1:00pm


    Sanushka Seomangal, Special Counsel, HWL Ebsworth Lawyers


    Nicola Hazell, Head of Diversity & Impact, BlueChilli and Director, She Starts

    Dr Muireann Irish, Associate Professor, University of Sydney

  • 1:00pm


  • 3.00pm


    The Hon Mr Victor Dominello MP, NSW Minister for Finance, Services and Property

  • 3:20pm – 4:20pm

  • 7:00pm

    Maritime Museum


    Barry O’Farrell, Deputy Chair, Australia India Council and Former Premier of New South Wales,

    B. Vanlalvawna, Consul General of India in Sydney

    The Hon. Craig Laundy MP, Assistant Minister for Minister for Industry, Innovation & Science


Panel Experts





  • 2
  • 4
  • 4_1
  • 5
  • 6
  • DSC_922400105-ME_Pub
  • DSC_964000109-ME_Pub
  • DSC_973600109-ME_Pub
  • GRN_846600106-ME_Pub
  • GRN_919800106-ME_Pub
  • GRN_929600108-ME_Pub
  • 1
  • 1_1

To read more about the dialogue, Please download below the AIYD report for year 2017.